Culture’s Biggest Night: Live updates from the 2021 BET Awards | News

Method Man, Busta Rhymes, Swizz Beatz and more pay homage to DMX

10:45 p.m. ET / 7:45 p.m. PT: Rappers took to the stage to honor the memory of DMX. Busta Rhymes, Male method, Swizz beatz and Griselda delivered powerful performances in homage to the hip hop legend.

Method Man started off with an acapella flow, followed by Griselda, which then opened up with a rendition of “Where is the cap”. What came next was a mix of hymns from X and Ruff Ryders including “Partying (up there)”, conducted by Busta Rhymes and Swizz Beatz.

Andra Day Chains Billie Holiday

10:45 p.m. ET / 7:45 p.m. PT: After winning the award for best actress, Andra’s Day serenaded the audience with a mix of songs from her movie The United States vs. Billie Holiday. She started with the signature song of the jazz and blues legend, “Strange fruit”.

Megan Thee Stallion is the viewer’s choice

10:45 p.m. ET / 7:45 p.m. PT: The victories are linked for Megan you stallion. This time she won the Viewer’s Choice Award for “Savage (Remix).” with Beyonce. “Everyone knows how much I love Beyoncé,” Megan said, paying homage to Bey and showing us the power to protest. Meg said she told the universe she wanted to collaborate with Bey, and it happened. Meg certainly had her arms full of trophies by the end of this year’s awards!

DJ Khaled Anchors Star-studded performance

10:45 p.m. ET / 7:45 p.m. PT: DJ Khaled brought down the house with his performance of “I did it.” He got help from some great artists, including little baby, Lil durk, Dababy and Megan you stallion.

Queen Latifah recognized for her incredible career

10:45 p.m. ET / 7:45 p.m. PT: Queen Latifah won an Lifetime Achievement Award at the 2021 BET Awards. In keeping with the theme, The Year of the Black Woman, Latifah thanked her mother, “a strong black woman.” She also urged women to unite. “Together we are stronger than when we tear each other apart,” she said.

Related: BET Awards 2021: Hip Hop Legends Honor Queen Latifah With Lifetime Achievement Award

City girls shake on stage

10:45 p.m. ET / 7:45 p.m. PT: Host Taraji P. Henson pulled out her map of the world to give the audience a history lesson on the origins of Twerk, who she says originated in Africa. After his lesson, City girls put the lesson into action with their performance of their shot “Twerkulator”.

Burna Boy wins the award for best international act

10:45 p.m. ET / 7:45 p.m. PT: Nigerian singer and songwriter Burna boy brought her mother on stage to win the award for best international act. His moment of escape came in 2012 with the release of “Like to party“, the best single from her debut studio album LIFE

For all the winners of the evening, click here.

Lil Baby wins Best Male Hip-Hop Artist Award

10:30 p.m. ET / 7:30 p.m. PT: Following his incredible performance with Kirk franklin to open the awards ceremony, Lil Baby took home the award for best male hip-hop artist. He topped a list of nominees that included DaBaby, Duck and Jack harlow.

For all the winners of the evening, click here.

Lil Nas X turns audiences on with ‘Montero’

10:10 p.m. ET / 7:10 p.m. PT: Culture’s Biggest Night had many great performances. One of them was Lil nas xthe performance of his hit “MONTERO, “his second number one on the Billboard 100 after his breakout smash”Old town road. “

In his performance, he took the stage wearing an Egyptian pharaoh’s outfit. He paid homage to Michael jackson‘s 1992 “Remember the time“, and ended the performance with a surprise that no one saw coming, but which suited Pride Month!

Roddy Ricch performs his hit “Late At Night”

10 p.m. ET / 7 p.m. PT: Roddy Ricch never fails to impress. He performed his most recent single, “Late at night, in tribute to Michael jackson‘s Polar. He showed up, dressed in all white, including his white sunglasses, as he electrified the audience.

Jazmine Sullivan performs with Maxine Waters and Ari Lennox, then wins album of the year

9:20 p.m. ET / 6:20 p.m. PT: “Take back my time!” Said the representative. Maxine Waters, delivering his signature phrase at the BET Awards to kick off Jazmine Sullivanwith R&B singer Ari Lennox.

Sullivan went on to win Album of the Year and gave a touching speech. The artist took the stage with her mother and revealed her mother was diagnosed with breast cancer two years ago. “But God is so faithful to us,” she said. “My mother is now in remission.”

It’s been a big night for Megan

9:20 p.m. ET / 6:20 p.m. PT: After a stunning performance and the award for best video, Megan Thee Stallion took home the award for best female hip-hop artist. Other nominees in this category included Cori Leray, Doja cat and Saweetie.

For all the winners of the evening, click here.

Creator Tyler Makes BET Awards Debut

9:20 p.m. ET / 6:20 p.m. PT: One of the night’s unique performances came from Tyler the creator. He recreated the windy, outdoor ensemble from his music video from his single “Lumberjack” and certainly made his mark on his very first appearance at the BET Awards.

Video of the Year goes to Megan Thee Stallion

9:20 p.m. ET / 6:20 p.m. PT: The victories are linked for Megan you stallion at the BET Awards. The most famous artist of the evening added another statue to his collection with the video of the year award, for “WAP”. she thanked Cardi B for “putting it on WAP,” which set the internet on fire when it debuted last year. At the Grammys, the duo put on a performance from their hit collaboration that still gets people talking, but with pregnant Cardi likely in need of a break from working overtime during her performance earlier that night, Meg the maintained for both while accepting the price.

For all the winners of the evening, click here.

Megan Thee Stallion gives electric performance of “Thot Sh * t”

8:50 p.m. ET / 5:50 p.m. PT: Megan you stallion showed us why she’s up for several awards this year. She delivered an electrifying performance of her latest single “Thot shit” it proves that this escape artist never fails to deliver. Megan has already won two awards – Best Video and Best Female Hip-Hop Artist – and is competing for Best Collaboration, as well as the coveted Best Album of the Year.

Best Female R & B / Pop Artist Goes To HER

9 p.m. ET / 6 p.m. PT: In a field of competitors that included Beyonce and Jazmine Sullivan, HER won the BET Award for Best Female R & B / Pop Artist.

HER was literally a one-woman band at the awards show in her performance, playing all the instruments herself.

8:40 p.m. ET / 5:40 p.m. PT: DaBaby took the stage at the BET Awards and jammed the audience. He’s competing in several different categories tonight, including best male hip-hop artist and album of the year.

Andra Day wins Best Actress award

8:40 p.m. ET / 5:40 p.m. PT: André day won the award for Best Actress against a group of nominees including veterans like Viola davis and Angela Bassett for his role as Billie Vacation in the Lee daniels-movie directed The United States vs. Billie Holiday.

“I really didn’t expect it,” said stunned Day, who was nominated for an Oscar for playing the blues legend in her first leading role in a movie.

For all the winners of the evening, click here.

Silk Sonic wins Best Group Award

8:30 p.m. ET / 5:30 p.m. PT: Silk Sonic’s Bruno Mars and Anderson .Paak won the trophy for best group at the BET Awards.

“To the fans who are patiently waiting, Andy and I promise you it will be worth the wait,” Mars said of the band’s upcoming debut album. “To all of you,” he added.

For all the winners of the evening, click here.

8:20 p.m. ET / 5:20 p.m. PT: Cardi B amazed her fans with a big surprise at the BET Awards. The rapper showed off her baby bump with a surprise appearance during the Migos performance. Congratulations, Cardi and Gap on baby # 2!

Taraji P. Henson Kicks off BET Awards by Recognizing Black Queens with Literal Flowers

8:10 p.m. ET / 5:10 p.m. PT: “Tonight you are going to get 100 percent of our complete darkness”, host Taraji P. Henson told the audience gathered for the 2021 BET Awards, adding that this year we especially celebrate black women.

“Celebrating black women is not a fad or a trend. It’s an eternal mood, okay, ”Henson continued. Then, swearing to give flowers to black women, she literally handed out roses to queens in the audience, including Maxine Waters, Issa Rae and Zendaya.

Kirk Franklin and Lil Baby start the party

8 p.m. ET / 5 p.m. PT: Gospel music icon Kirk franklin and hip hop star little baby kicked off the BET Awards with a powerful opening performance of their collaborative success “We win.”

“Don’t you know you are black and beautiful,” Franklin told the audience, in keeping with the theme of the celebration night for black people, and especially black women.

Zendaya stuns in a lapel dress as a tribute to Beyonce

7:30 p.m. ET / 4:30 p.m. PT: Zendaya used her moment on the BET Awards red carpet to pay tribute to an icon, and social media took notice. the Malcolm & Marie stunned actress in an airy purple and green dress, it’s clearly a tribute to the Versace look that Beyonce worn at the 2003 BET Awards.

Bree Runway wins Best New International Act award

7:30 p.m. ET / 4:30 p.m. PT: Congratulations to the first winner of the evening!

Bree track won Viewer’s Choice: Best New International Act. The British artist faced competition from France, Nigeria, South Africa and Brazil.

Award presenter Terrence J said Runway couldn’t be at the awards show this year, so he accepted it on his behalf.

For all the winners of the evening, click here.

Lil Nas X shows off slamming outfits on the red carpet

6:45 p.m. ET / 3:45 p.m. PT: Lil Nas X graced the red carpet at the BET Awards in not one, but two stunning outfits. The first was a breathtaking dress in cream and pastel blue:

Very shortly later, the rapper made a quick outfit change to a pantsuit with Elvis vibrations:

the “Montero” the singer will perform during the show later this evening.

For more red carpet looks, click here.

2021 BET Awards start with celebrities walking the red carpet

6:30 p.m. ET / 3:30 p.m. PT: The biggest night of culture is underway! The power of the black stars was in the spotlight with celebrities walking the red carpet for the 2021 BET Awards at the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles.

Award-winning actress Taraji P. Henson, which livens up the evening’s festivities, made a dazzling appearance. Lil nas x and Coi Leray also walked on the mat and did not disappoint. These are just a few of the stars of tonight, and more as the red carpet rolls on!

The theme for this year is “Year of the Black Woman”. Stick with us throughout the evening as we post some must-see moments.

For more red carpet looks, click here.